Categories
Life stories

Life In Times Of Corona Virus

Few months back, I was enjoying my vacation with people from different countries. I was having a blast experiencing different cultures and food. On the first day of 2020, I was on a flight and was feeling truly ecstatic because this was the first time I was flying on 1st of January. I thought – what a crazy year this will be? I was already planning for my next vacation. 

I joined back office with my tan and beautiful memories of my holiday. I just couldn’t stop smiling with the days I just lived and the days I was planning to live. I was enjoying my work and my life. In the next few days, I learnt about a virus that the entire world was talking about. I first heard something about China, then a few days later, it was Iran, then Italy. It was sprawling like wildfire globally and soon it hit India.

The idea of Corona virus hitting India was as scary as Tsunami hitting Japan (Tsunami hitting anywhere else is equally scary). India was not prepared, people were not prepared, government was not prepared.

We all were going to experience something unseen in the last 100 years. Everyone wasΒ goingΒ to get affected. There were no exceptions. Our worlds were taking a one-eighty degree turn. India a country with an unending hustle-bustle was going to get used to being quiet. I know the entire world was experiencing this, but for India,Β being India, this was a challenge. We are the noise makers, we don’t know what quiet is. We are deeply tied up with our families, our friends, our neighborhood, how were we going to survive this? This India would have to understand social distancing and most importantly, follow it.Β 

We all learnt about social distancing.Β ByΒ the way, this should be Oxford’s word of 2020. The virus and the word made us stay at home. No malls, noΒ fun places to go to, no dinners outside, no vacation plansΒ and no social gatherings. Stay where you are – is the message.Β A lockdown.Β I understand the message. We all do.Β WeΒ haveΒ toΒ stayΒ at home. Homebound only. Which means I’m working from home, just like most of the us.Β 

Working from home has always been a dream. It’s convenient – I always thought. Well, initially it was fun. It was so good to be in my space and delivering work. I realised I was more focused at home than office. I was so focused, just like my husband who was also working from home,Β that our line of personal and work space blurred. It wasn’t clear anymore whether it was time to work or to stop work. There were no breaks, no early morning chitchat with friends at workΒ and no snack time.Β My husbandΒ gotΒ up every morningΒ inΒ a hurryΒ toΒ get readyΒ forΒ his early morningΒ zoom meeting. Our lunches were also in a haste mostly. By the time we both were off our laptops, it was mostly eight in the evening. Then, we would prepare our dinner and it wouldΒ be ten already. What was happening? We were spending twenty four hours together in the same house and not spending much time with each other. And me being the selfish one that I am,Β I was also worried about not having enough time to spend with myself. IΒ amΒ aΒ firm believer of spending some quality time with oneself first and then with someone else.Β 

That evening, I started making a mental note of things that I wanted to do. I understood that the lockdown was not going to go away anytime soon. I had to do something. I had to.

First thing I did the next morning was – I picked my Nikon DSLR that I bought five years back. Yes, five years back! I could count the number of times I used it earlier and I’m not proud of myself to say that. I was so excited when I had bought it but in theΒ daily grind of life, it was kept someplace, where I wouldn’t see it often. I cleared my mind of my past excitement and filled my heart with the freshness of early morning. In next few seconds, I was in my balcony. Now this is no ordinary balcony. This balcony gives me a view of endless greenery, hills and open sky. I’m always thankful to God whenever I’m in my balcony, this is my favourite space in my space. As I stood outside, I noticed a bird – I had never seen this bird before. I was elated to see it. The bird was Coppersmith Barbet. I clicked. Next day, it was a Bulbul, the next, a Superb Fairy Wren, the next, a Magpie Robin and the next, a Kingfisher. What was happening? Was this because of lockdown? Maybe? I wondered how I never noticed a single bird apart from the pestersome Pigeons. Now this is my hope of my every morning. This makes me happy and this gives me hope.
In these times, we need to find our own hope. We need to create new strengths and new happinesses. While we all need to work. We all need to have fun as well. We need to connect with ourselves, or else how will we connect with our families, our partners.Β 

Find something that will make you feel alive, I’m trying to find more.Β Gym is shut,Β soΒ I’mΒ trying sun salutationsΒ at home.Β HaveΒ no StarbucksΒ orΒ aΒ DurgaΒ coffee house open,Β soΒ I’mΒ trying Dalgona at home. I’m learning about focus, aperture and white balance, things that I should have learnt five years back. Writing this article is also aboutΒ me finding happiness. I hope there’s somethingΒ that each one of us is able find for ourselves – findingΒ our happiness in the times of Corona. The gloom will get defeated by each drop of happiness that we create in our lives.

By ThePinkLensStories

A believe of the power of expression. From time to time, I would pen down my thoughts on this page on the ever evolving world around me. I would cover things, people and emotions that catch my eye. Sometime with words, sometimes with pictures.

Let's stay connected here and get to know one another's world! It's The Pink Lens Stories, from my perspective.

I would be excited for your feedbacks on my blog!!

27 replies on “Life In Times Of Corona Virus”

You are right about finding something besides work and the frustration of the virus to focus on. Birding and photography are good activities that cost nothing – and you are finding that the birds are coming to you! I hope you will post your photographs of them.

Like

good that you have found your way to stay sane through this terrible time. Now we must be resolute…Resolved that all politicians on the right must be booted out of office. They speak and act only for the wealthy while making conditions worse for all the rest of us. This includes the fight against Covid-19…and the medical help in general for ordinary people everywhere. continue…

Liked by 1 person

Yes, thank you.. πŸ™‚ the current Covid situation is really sad and have really brought the true faces of politicians all over the world. This fight is long and we have to stay strong. Please take care and sending you love.

Like

It sounds so fun! My son is on a similar adventure during quarantine. He got a new Sony Alpha 7 III for Christmas and has been using all the extra time around the house to figure out how to use it. He’s loving it and gets so excited about his pictures πŸ™‚

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment